Trust.

Note: I actually wrote this blog post almost 2 months ago and just never posted it. This week has been an amazing example of both the Lord’s faithfulness and providence in our lives. From really seeing fundraising get started, to getting several very well timed emails, it was a cool week and this little blog post seemed appropriate.

 

I’ve never thought of myself as worrier. My personality just really doesn’t lend itself to worrying very much. My thought process has always been more of a “Worrying doesn’t fix anything.” I’m a doer. A fixer. Proactive. And honestly, a lot of times i’ve considered worrying a weakness. So when I was super convicted about my worrying about our finances a couple of weeks ago, I was ashamed. And perplexed. But most of all, thankful. Thankful that the Lord was bringing something to my attention that if i’m really honest, has been a focal point for the past 10 months. So i stopped worrying. And i know that sounds so simple. But for someone who has never been a chronic worrier, it wasn’t that hard. I just stopped. And i put all of my trust in the Lord. Not just my trust for certain things. ALL of my trust. I fully trusted him with our finances even though mathematically, something wouldn’t get paid this month. And he provided. And provided. And provided. In huge ways. And let me say, He hasn’t not provided for the last 10 months, He has. And it’s been a beautiful picture of His great providence in our lives. But this has been above & beyond. And it just all came together so beautifully that only the Lord could have orchestrated. And i’m reminded that He has given me every reason to trust in Him. Sometimes I just choose not to. But when I do, i am reminded that He is making all things new. He is showing us who He  is all the time. He is showing us that He is Jehovah-Jireh, God, our great Provider.

And this beautiful life lesson about what happens when you stop worrying and just abide and trust in the Creator of the Universe… well it could not have come at a better time. Now i’m blessed to walk into raising our support for the next two years fully trusting in the Lord and whole heartedly believing in His providence. And of course, He knows that I needed that.

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.”  – Matthew 6:25-34 (ESV)

Leave a comment