the battle is won.

I have a confession to make… I have been combatting a lot of lies. I don’t even know how it happened. But it did and I feel like I’ve been at war with my own mind.

But here’s the thing, I am fighting a battle that was won many years ago when Jesus took my own hot mess and died instead of me. It’s not him that’s sneaking in and whispering “you’re not cut out for this place.” He is the one who called me here. And I believe that he is faithful. (1 Thessalonians 5:24). The Lord is not the one screaming at me, “YOU AREN’T QUALIFIED TO BE HERE.” For I know that He has given me everything I need for life and godliness. (2 Peter 1:3). He’s not the one who is telling me, “you’re losing yourself here” because I know that my home is found in him. That because of Christ in me, I have the hope of glory. (John 15, Colossians 1:27). He is not the one who is whispering, “you don’t have anywhere to belong,” because I know that in the kingdom of God is the only place that I need to belong. I know that I belong to the Lord and that He has redeemed me.  (1 Peter 2:9-10) He does not tell me that I am “too prideful, too sinful, too much for this culture.” I know that those lies do not come from him, because I know that in Christ, I am a new creation, He has taken the old and the new has come. (2 Corinthians 5:17-21). I could go on and on; there’s a reason that Satan is called the “Father of Lies”. (John 8:44)

So I will continue to fight the lies, to speak truth over myself, knowing that truth is my greatest weapon. And i know that truth brings freedom. But the thing about true freedom is that you have to want to walk in it. And why wouldn’t I? Jesus died so that I could know freedom. Why would I keep walking in the lies? He has already won the battle. So I will continue to walk into freedom, using the truth of His word, remembering that his banner over me is LOVE. and LOVE always wins.

“For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to a yoke of slavery.” – Galatians 5:1

4 thoughts on “the battle is won.

  1. Clearly the enemy has it out for you because you are EXACTLY where God wants you to be and able to do everything God wants you to do there. Claim those victories and keep fighting for the truth. Praying for you and I think of you guys often. ❤

  2. How is it that the young can put forth such wisdom when the old have the years and experiences? Is it because as we age we become desensitized the God’s magnitude? Is it because as we juggle so many responsibilities daily that we forget to give them to God? Is it because the players change and as children become part of our worries we forget that God can parent way better than we can and we can’t parent at all without Him? Is it because we have so many decisions, responsibilities, & choices each day that we get caught up in our own control and forget who is ultimately in control? I’m not sure …. but I do know that God used you today. It’s funny to me that your mission is in India but your blog ministers to so many every month all over this country. Thank you for writing so heartfelt blogs with honest struggles and achievements. This couldn’t have been more important for me to read than today. God uses all of us to speak truth to each other. Age doesn’t matter. When we let God bring us through life’s trials, the blessing is in using it to help someone else. No one knows that better than your mother & I. It has been one of my great joys to be friends with your parents and be around to watch you kids grow up. I pray my girls find men like Preston when they are ready to marry. (and God help us all when that happens! You & your mom will have to take over!!) One of my very favorite verses is Psalm 91:4 “He will cover you with his feathers, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.” I love the imagery of being covered in God’s wings. What a place to take refuge from life’s struggles!! I miss you kid. Big hugs and kisses for you both!! (any sign of that package yet?)
    Jenny

Leave a Reply

