Nourish.

I’ve never been big on New Year’s resolutions, which is surprising considering my affinity for lists and goals. I am however, always enthralled by the New Year. It’s a  fresh start, like blank pages of a new journal. I find myself loving the newness that comes with a new year. This year, I’ve decided to take part of the One Word 365 challenge. It’s pretty much as simple as it sounds. Instead of resolutions, pick one word that you want to define 2014. It can be as simple as “yes” or “no”. You can put as much meaning into it as you want to.

As you might have guessed from the title of this blog, my word is NOURISH. 

nourish (verb) – 1. provide with the food or other substances necessary for growth, health and good condition. synonyms: feed, provide for, sustain, maintain. antonyms: starve

2. keep (a feeling or belief) in one’s mind, typically for a long time. synonyms: cherish, nurture, foster, harbor, nurse, keep in one’s mind, entertain, maintain, sustain, hold, have antonyms: repress, discourage

I chose this word after a lot of reflection on 2013 and where i am in life right now. I think it best depicts what my goals are for 2014.

I want to NOURISH my body back to good health. I want to rest and rest well and be healthy for longer than a week or two.

I want to NOURISH thoughts of the Lord’s goodness and faithfulness all year long.

I want to NOURISH our marriage. To sustain it and grow it. I want to be Preston’s greatest encourager and I want to cherish what we have together.

I want to NOURISH my soul. Feeding it, making it a priority and giving it the things it needs to be sustained throughout the year.

I want to NOURISH my mind. I want to learn new things, read lots of books and be challenged theologically and intellectually.

I want to NOURISH my relationships with my family and friends. I want to be intentional and sustain the relationships that give me community and keep me afloat.

I want to help NOURISH the kids and staff at HOL. I want to encourage them and lead by example.

and more than anything I want to NOURISH my relationship with the Lord. I want to grow deeper in my identity in Jesus and all that He is to me.

And as I focus on the word NOURISH, i am reflecting on John 15:1-17. Which isn’t a feel good verse that encourages me, but a passage that challenges me, year after year. I’m always gleaning new information and knowledge from this passage. And this is my passage for the year, so that I always remember that I cannot nourish a single part of me without Him.

“Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.”  John 15:4-5

I would love to hear your One Word! Happy New Year!

One thought on “Nourish.

Leave a Reply

