rescue.

I read a book recently about hard seasons, grace and change. It was most fitting after the year that we had leading up to leaving for India and even more fitting for the strange transition phase we found ourselves in. There’s a part in the book where the author talks about how central to the message of the gospel, is the principle of being rescued. And until you are really truly rescued from something bigger than yourself, you can’t really understand the gospel. 

And I absolutely understood that. I grew up in a home where I was at church every Sunday and Wednesday. I was the quintessential youth group kid. My mom used to punish me by taking away church instead of making me go to church. I knew all the verses, all the worship songs,  I knew how to have a quiet time and for the most part, I thought I understood. It wasn’t some big act I was putting on or anything. I really did think that I got it. But it wasn’t until college that the Lord started to do something deeper. And that had everything to do with rescue. I got to a point where I needed to believe in something bigger than myself. Where I needed to know that Jesus was so much bigger than my apathy. That my pride was incomparable to his goodness. That my selfishness was no match for his kindness. That He would woo my stubborn nature with his kindness. And that He could and would rescue me from all of these things and more. 

In those moments and many more, it started to click in ways that it never had before. I started to understand what it meant to cry out “Hosanna” knowing that I was deeply in need of a Savior. I learned what it was like to not be able to move out of my own strength but to let the Lord be my strength. I learned that I was a sinful mess, that we all are; but that He loved me anyway. I understood what I had been rescued from and who would ever want to go back to pride and apathy when they had tasted and seen that the Lord was and is good? 

In India, especially with the kids we are working with, rescue is all around us. These kids get the gospel because they understand what it means to be rescued from something. For some of them, they were rescued from life on the train station, a life where they collected bottles to make money, solicited passengers and were forced to sniff glue just to get through the day. Others were rescued from horrible family situations, or family life where they didn’t know when their next meal would be. And now they have a bed to sleep in at night, 3 meals a day, school to go to and people that love them and tell them about who Jesus is. And that He is powerful and can do all things and it makes sense to them, because He rescued them. He gave them hope. He gave them a future that is so much brighter than anything they could have imagined. 

 

I pray that this reminds you of the ways that you’ve been rescued. And that you’ll thank the Lord for what He has and will continue to do in your life. And if you’re in a place of waiting to be rescued, that you’ll reach your arm up and let Him rescue you, because I am confident that He will. 

 

One thought on “rescue.

  1. Alex,
    I was really blessed to read your blog!
    What an amazing saviour that we have! It is always a blessing to experience those times when we know and see our great need for Jesus and his grace in our lives. Its so neat to experience Him working in and through us in comparison to us trying to do it in our own strength.
    It sounds like you guys are doing some amazing work there among the kids.
    How exciting. May God bless you both richly in your lives and ministry.

    I have been seeing so many articles on the evil of trafficking…i pray that God continue to place this issue on my heart and to now settle into the comfortable american lifestyle and be desensitized to the horrific issues that our God wants us to fight!

Leave a Reply

