oh, india.

we haven’t even left yet and the craziness that is india is already affecting us. my dear friends lauren & tara came to visit this weekend and because we were already going to be running around houston, we decided that we would theoretically swing by and pick up Preston & I’s passports from the visa processing company.

if you know anything about india, you can probably already guess that this was NOT a simple task. we started out at the old office on Westheimer Rd. (if you know Houston, this is going to add even more to this story, if you don’t, i’ll do my best to explain). We get there and there is a handwritten sign on the door that says something to the effect of “this office no longer exists, don’t send mail here”. Fabulous. So i call the number that called us to tell us that our visas were ready to pick up. My dear friend Travis at Travisa tells me that he doesn’t have the exact address where i need to go, but it’s right off of 610 and if i google it, i should be able to find it. Awesome.

I google it. And it’s about 10 miles away, which translates to 30 minutes in Houston friday afternoon time. We get there. Sketchy office building #2. Walk into the suite and there’s 2 ladies there that are all like, “what are you doing here?” They tell us that the office we actually need to be at is also off of 610 but further up on the feeder. I.e turn around and it’s less than a mile away but you’re going to have to go around & there’s construction so it’s going to take at least 15 minutes.

Sketchy office building #3. It’s actually an office that looks like we could pick up our visas at! Except it is 2:50pm and they are on lunch. And say they can’t release our visas until 4:30. If they have them. At 3pm the lady agrees to help me. She takes my case number & everything & goes to look for them. She comes back and says that she has no idea where they are and she has looked everywhere that she is allowed to look. We’ll have to wait until the one guy that has the power to look elsewhere gets back from lunch. And no, she has no idea when that will be.

I go outside to call my dear friend Travis at Travisa while we’re waiting. He asks for my case number, etc. And says, “oh. actually it looks like we have them at our office.” So i’m all “ARE YOU SURE?!?” He assures me that he does have both of them. So we make the 30 minute, 10 mile trek back to the area that we came from in the first place.

Actually normal looking office building #1. We arrive. Climb 6 flights of stairs with a pregnant lady. Only to have to go back down 3 flights to enter the building. Enter a super busy office suite and they do have our passports! Hallelujah!

And there you have it, such a true depiction of how india works (even in the US). Our friend Karis showed us an article a while back about life in india. She describes living in India as

being in a very intense, extremely dysfunctional relationship. India and I fight, we scream, we argue, we don’t speak for days on end, but really, deep down, we love each other. She’s a strange beast, this India. She hugs me, so tightly sometimes that I can’t breathe, then she turns and punches me hard in the face, leaving me stunned. Then she hugs me again, and suddenly I know everything will be all right.  – Catherine Taylor

Oh, india. My heart has never been more ready to meet you again. rājā’ōṁ ā rahē haiṁ.

 

20130723-101138.jpg

the infamous indian visas

20130723-101258.jpg

we went to ikea to celebrate finally tracking down our visas!

P.s we leave in 13 days and still have monthly support to raise! if you are interested in setting up monthly donations, email me or click on invest on the upper right hand corner! Thanks!

One thought on “oh, india.

Leave a Reply

