life lessons from DaLee

I come from a very long line of strong, independent women. Including my dear momma, DaLee. She has been a steadfast example of godly wisdom, discernment and a Proverbs 31 woman my entire life. I’ve learned more about what it means to be a good wife from watching her for the past 23 years than I could ever read in a book. And the best part is that now I get to consider my mom as one of my best friends in addition to being my mom. There are so many things that she’s taught me that it’s hard to put them down in words, but I’m going to do my best to list the super important life lessons. (Or at least super important to me)

1. The world is a huge place and you should see as many parts of it as you can. My mom has planted the deepest love of travel in me. She’s taken me to California, Hawaii, New York City, Chicago, etc. She’s encouraged me to go to Mexico and India. She’s even totally on board with our moving to India! She’s taught me that there is so much in this world to experience and that it is important to experience it.

2. “It takes a village.” Okay, technically Hillary Rodham Clinton first coined this phrase, but this has been a huge life lesson over the years. My mom has taught me not only how to be a good friend and that “to have a friend, you have to be a friend.” She’s taught me that I am not an island. It takes community. It takes friends. It truly does take a village to do life. She made our {large} family very much like a village. She taught us very early on that we needed each other. And this has made a huge impact on how i lead my adult life.

3. The power of a praying wife. My mom is prayer warrior. Growing up, whenever I got up for school, she was always downstairs on the couch finishing her time with the Lord. She had usually been up for at least an hour. She knew that in order to get through the day and to raise 5 kids, she needed to rest in the Lord and that she needed to pray. This made more of an impact than she probably even knows.

4. “Train up a child in the way he should go; even when he is old he will not depart from it.” – Proverbs 22:6 This is my mom’s favorite Bible verse. And it rings so true with the way that she has raised all of us. She taught us very early on right from wrong, how to be good people, how to treat each other with respect, how to do practical things, how to be good roommates, etc. She empowered us and prepared us for adulthood. She didn’t do stuff for us, she taught us how to do things on our own.

5. Be intentional and love well. My mom is super intentional with all of us, my dad and her friends. She’s also a great gift giver which I think goes into being intentional. She loves people very well, from sending care packages at just the right time, to always being a phone call away when I’ve had a bad day, to checking in when she knows we’re having a rough week.

6. Being a submissive wife does not mean being a doormat. My mom is an amazing example of strength and she is also a great wife. She has modeled what it means to be a godly wife for me for my entire life. I’ve learned so much about godly submission from watching her act out being a wife to my dad.

7. The cure for a bad day (and a migraine) is probably Starbucks, a shower and a nap. 

8. Live every single day as if it were your last. My mom has inspired me to always make the most of every single day, because that is the way that she lives, always giving, always living life to the fullest.

I’m super thankful for all that my mom has taught me over the years and know that she still has so much to teach me. Happy Mother’s Day mommy dearest! I love you more than the sky.

SMP_0820 SMP_0836

Leave a Reply

