Today.

Some days it’s hard not to wake up longing for India so much that I think my heart might explode. There’s so much expectation with India. In some ways, I feel like i’ve been waiting forever to get back there. And then there are days here that seem so frivolous, so meaningless. Which isn’t true. But it’s a battle that I fight almost daily. You see, it’s hard to sit here in my air conditioned apartment and drink my real coffee and wrap my head around the fact that while the average American lives on more than $90 per day, approximately ONE BILLION people live on less than $1 per day and 2.6 BILLION people (40% of the world’s population) live on less than $2 a day. And i feel like i’m not doing anything about it. But then the Lord swoops in and reminds me that I am exactly where He has me. He has me here, for such a time as this, for a very specific reason. Yes, He has called us to India and we eagerly anticipate and enter into that season soon. But right now, we are called to be here. And i have to constantly remind myself that since this is where the Lord has me right now, this is where i’ll be. i’ll be content. i’ll be joyful. i’ll cherish every single second with my family & friends. and i’ll fully understand that even though i’mΒ just playing with my dog, going to work, having dinner with a friend and being a wife today, it’s what the Lord’s will is. and He is good and He is perfect.

2012-05-29_1338306364

Interested in learning how to support us while we are in India? Check out our Invest page.

Leave a Reply

